Idea For A Better Bodyboard

 bodyboard.gif

My son is a surfer and bodyboarder. He’s really pretty good. He once won first place in the Mid-Atlantic Regionals for bodyboarding in his age group. He inspired this idea, though he thinks the thing won’t work.

The thing is a different kind of bodyboard–one that goes faster through the wave by virtue of a built-in (encased) propeller that turns as you ride the face of the wave (the water turns the prop like a turbine) to give more propulsion (speed)–at least that’s the idea behind it. Other than the propeller (which I don’t think needs to be very big), it’s just like any other bodyboard.

Now for safety reasons the encased plastic (cheaper) prop must be set back on the board and built into the bottom so that a girl’s (or guys) long hair doesn’t get sucked in. You also might want a channel for the water to get in faster, but I don’t think it’s necessary. Other than that, it’s pretty safe–there is no motor, it works on physics (?).

Personally I would love this, since I can barely catch a wave on the board, but if I did, wow, what a ride I’d get!

Who knows, maybe this can work on a surfboard too but I would be against it.

One response to “Idea For A Better Bodyboard

  1. Wow. Great idea. I love riding the waves fast thus this is excellent.

Leave a comment